100 Successes

I attended a Jack Canfield seminar and he invited us to write down our 100 successes; each getting us to understand that we are successful and that we have accomplishments, even if – or when – we fail to recognize them.

I thought, “No way! One hundred successes are completely out of my reach.” Then came the tool: Did you ever win a ribbon at field day in grade school? Did you graduate from high school? He mentioned myriad successes that I didn’t consider “successes.” That’s the situation when we compare ourselves to friends, co-workers, acquaintances, siblings, etc. who have accomplished – in our minds – more prominent successes.

Sunday was a glorious, cloudless,  upper-70s day in Denver and I took a long walk on the bike path by my house. Bicyclists, runners, walkers, strollers of all ages were out; spring invited us all to come play. At the beginning and the end of my walk is a small park where the human traffic was minimal, and I watched a father help his daughter – don’t know her age – learn to ride a bicycle, to balance by herself. He –  like all fathers or mothers – held the back seat and wanted desperately to let go and have us keep riding with no help!

She’d obviously graduated from a tricycle to a bicycle with training wheels to just the bike. I saw the frustration in her face, the fear of not “getting it,” and the yearning and commitment to be able to ride her bike. I don’t know the outcome of her practices, and I do know that if she did make it without Dad holding her seat she’d be a happy girl and proud to tell her friends on Monday! If she still needs more time, she’d either keep it to herself or she’d let her friends know she “almost made it.”

I remember those days on the sidewalk outside my house in Baltimore wanting to be able to keep up with the neighbors, my cousins – older and across the street – and my older brother. I was desperate for that success. I can’t tell you all these decades later how I felt when I finally could ride with my friends, but I do know that I succeeded!

Yes, learning to ride a bike is a success!

Broaden your view of your successes: a great team player? a fabulous friend? a dedicated employee? an attentive parent? a best friend? a considerate co-worker. Include these in your 100-list, along with the blue, red or white ribbons; the trophies; the certificates of achievement; an “employee of the month or year”; a book. The list goes on and on when you realize that your successes outnumber your didn’t-quite-make-it attempts.

“Winners form the habit of concentrating on what they want to have happen; losers concentrate on what they don’t want to have happen.  In pressure situations, winners call up past wins; losers recall past losses.  Both are self-fulfilling.” Anonymous

Call up any number of your 100 – or more – successes when your mind plays negative tricks on you. One or two or three will help promote your project, your energy and you.

Start writing!

Here’s to success.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

