Contact Information

I belong to two book clubs: Doubleday and The Literary Guild.  I’m a voracious reader; love to turn out the world and get into someone else’s, whether it be fiction or non; love the quiet;  and the taste and feel of the authors’ writing skills.  I can easily read a book a week during a work week, and two or three when I’m on vacation.

Each club sends monthly marketing materials.  In the envelops, along with the monthly pick-of-the-month selections and other book synopsis, I get a dozen fliers for some DVD, CD, Music club or specific authors’ book  synopsis.  I get both around the same time of the month.

I was cleaning my desk yesterday afternoon – a rarity, to say the least! – and I found a green, square – 4″ x 4″- “Click and Save,” 16-page brochure from one of my book clubs.

Front page:  “Kick-start your membership with 6 online coupons!”  Page 3: “Here’s a fast & easy way to save even MORE on your online orders!”  An arrow at the bottom of the page shouts,”Turn the page & start saving!”  Page 12: “Buy one book, get one for $1.99, plus s/h.”  The last page tells me that the offers end at midnight on 31 March 2010, and then they bullet seven marketing tips.  Not once, not on any page, never do they give me the website to go to, nor the name of the club.  I obviously miss out on the offers.

Where is your contact information?  Do you have it on everything that goes out of your office or home?  If you don’t send someone a return address or tell them how and where to contact you, it’s like sending an unsigned check – it’s no good.  I couldn’t believe  that the brochure had no contact information. ( I shouldn’t be too amazed, because I’ve seen this before.)

When you meet someone you usually give them your name, right?  Yes!  Your name is the most important word in the world; it identifies you above everyone else in the Universe.  Yeah.  Your company name is the same for the company: the most important.  Your company’s name identifies you; your website identifies you, your product, service or commodity; your e-mail address and phone number allow others to contact you.  Don’t you want people to call or e-mail you?  Don’t you want people to buy? Absolutely! 

Every letter you write – we used to have stationery – has your name and e-mail address at the top.  Remember to give it to me again at the end.  Do you have a signature line and logo that identifies you at the end?  If not, make one.  They’re easy to design and they help you stand out above your competition.

Give your readers your contact information, even more than once.  It’s okay, we like seeing contact information, especially when we’re in the buying mode.

I assume the book club sent out that little green brochure to all of their new members – 100s?  1000s?  I don’t know.  But, what a waste of money, time and energy.  The company put who knows how much time, money and energy of several people and the printer, for what reason?  I’m still trying to figure it out; therefore, it’s been a waste of my time, which is money, and energy.

Who are you?  What do you do?  Let me know and let me know where to find you.  It’s amazing what contact information can and will do for your bottom line.

Happy contact-information Thursday.

www.DeeDukehart.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

