Attitude

How’s your attitude today?  Did you bring a positive or negative attitude with you? Do you feel compelled to get all your projects done – early?  Do you show others appreciation?  Do you smile at everyone along the way? Do you enjoy who you are and what you do? Or, are you just in a wretched mood and want to be left alone?

With a positive attitude about day-to-day projects, you arrive at the end of the day with a smile on your face and a warm feeling in your heart.  You can wake up with a positive attitude and keep it tattooed on your brain, or you can wake up with a pissy attitude and wear it with pride. It’s the mental game played by all of us: How you arrive at your day and how you’re going to exploit it.  You chose.

I’m amazed at how powerful “a bad case of the uglies” envelops a group of  positive people.  How is it that one negative person “ruins” our day?  Why do we attach more power on the negativity in the office, on the job, at the store, in the traffic jam, on the phone, and at home, than the positive?  That “little black cloud” hovering over some person’s head transfers to another person – or group –  and grows so quickly.  Why doesn’t the sunny ray do the same?  Is negativity more contagious? No, it’s just what we allow.  

Your positive energy is contagious.  Let it be!

You can be the most positive driven employee working the most mundane job and enjoy what you do.  If you’re a clerk, waiter, housekeeper, garbage collector, street sweeper, car mechanic, retail sales person, supervisor, secretary, owner, administrative assistant, or president, with a positive attitude you’re not really working, you’re providing a service to others.  I know you’re appalled by the lack of customer service and common courtesy in your world, the same way I am.  Are arrogance, rudeness and negativity in some gene pool that explodes in certain people?  If so, I want to obliterate that gene pool – now.

When I’m not my normal cheerful, ebullient, energetic self, I need to search for my positive attitude.  I may have put it in the freezer.  I may have thrown it in the garbage disposal. Maybe it went down the drain with my toothpaste.  Maybe it hopped on a bus and went downtown.  I don’t know.  I can search and destroy my brain for it, and it remains hidden.  Then I scream at it to come out so I can be nicer to the people I come in contact with daily.  Finally it shows up, and I feel better, not to mention others around me.  It’s in my power to have it or hide it.   It’s how I perceive the situation and it’s only my interpretation.  You didn’t hand me my attitude in a file.  You didn’t put it in my morning tea or cereal.  You didn’t give it to me; I give it to myself.  Right?

I’m responsible for who I am and what I do.  You, in turn, are responsible for who you are and what you do.  We’re also both propelled to act in a manner that our thoughts drive us,  and accentuate the positives.  When we do, we get projects done faster, better and cleaner. I know, I’ve witnessed my attitude adjustments and seen the positive results.

Lou Holtz said, “Ability is what you’re capable of doing.  Motivation determines what you do.  Attitude determines how well you do it. ” (My italics.)  I recommend that you reread that quotation, and maybe even write it down.  Place it on your mirror at home, your dashboard in the car, your computer screen at work, and your thoughts at all times.  It might help you.  It helps me.

Here’s to a grand and joyous day.

www.DeeDukehart.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

